Let's do this! - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu Let's do this! - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu

Let's do this!

Door: timonkrause

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

02 Februari 2011 | Nieuw Zeeland, Hamilton

Yes, Ladies and Gentlemen!

I've been away from here for a long time - the holidays - but now school started again and we gotta revive this site again 8-) .
How are you doing? Everything going well? Leave a comment ;).

Uhm...it might be a little bit late but Happy New Year anyway :D!

Actually, since I hadn't been on here for such a long time I kinda had to think of my password to log in.
Good thing I remembered it is "ment@l!$t".
I'm kidding. Of course it is not "ment@l!$t".

waarbenjij.nu has a new feature, the moving-photo. It's two photos that switch and create a message. I created a message for you, to see it go onto the 'fotoboek' and click on 'bewegende foto', then type in 'guest' as username and 'guest' as password. Then you'll hopefuly see my message. Try it out, see you back here when you saw it :)!

Did you find it? So you're back? Sweet, let's go on then.

So, what did I do during the holidays? As I said in my last post (29. of december...that's aaaages ago!)
I went to Bryce's and Janet's (my 2. hostparents) beachhouse at the Coromandel Eastcoast. It was amazing. We went fishing quite a lot. Bryce taught me a lot about rod-fishing and I even caught a few fish :D. At one stage I had a big Kahawai on the line, at the surface it jumped and destroyed the line though. Damn fish.
Bryce also taught me how to drive a boat, so yes I can drive a boat. Scary thought? Well yeah, you won't find it that scary anymore though if you find out what I found out today:
To get a driver's license in New Zealand you do not need to take driving-lessons. For the 'learners license' (can only drive with parents in car) you just do a test. For the 'restricted license' (can drive alone, but without passengers at all) you do a 20minutes driving test and for the 'full license' (can drive alone or with passengers at every time of the day) you just need to absolve a 45minutes driving test. No compulsary driving lessons required, no experience needed. Now, that is scary!

Back to topic though. During my time at the beachhouse I also met some students, most of them Maori, and I hung out with them during New year's eve. It was awesome. Libby and Tim joined us for a day in the beachhouse (before new year's) and Jim and Heather came along for a day as well.
We also went to a 'Keltic fair' in Coromandel town, it was nice.

After we came back from the beachhouse I shifted from Bryce and Janet to Maria and her son Alex (12). My time there was really cool, we had a lot of fun together :). Went to Hamilton lake, mocked around with Alex...I also met Nicholas, Maria's oldest son. He just turned 21.
I only could stay with Maria for a month since she has to travel a lot now, so now I am with Libby (hostmum), Tim (hostdad) and Danae (hostsister). Libby and Tim just got married on the 21. of January I think :) Congrats!

Before I shifted to Libby though I went up to Napier with Keith. Keith is a guy from our Rotary club, he's really nice. I stayed at his house before and after we went to Napier for a night. There I met his son Callen and his partner David ( Keith and David are homosexual). They're all really cool, Keith said I can come and stay another time with them or go up to Napier with him again.
Keith's family lives in Napier and I met Amy, a rotary exchange student from Canada, for a day. It was very enjoyable :).

So yeah, a few days ago I shifted to Libby's place. I already unpacked my stuff and got used to it, it's so cool!

When I wasn't travelling during the holidays I did streetmagic a few hours a day or hung out with Brahm, he owns a shirtshop in town.

Today school started again and I really like being back at school :). Saw all my friends back and got into new subjects.

My subjects for this year are:

Music-Technic

Maths (Calculus) ...talking about maths, can again someone from my german friends update me with what we're doing in maths at the moment?

Drama (Drama, Baby, Drama!)

Advanced PE - we are actually ment to get fit there and stuff ;D!

Advanced Photography. Sounds good.

You see this year it's only 5 subjects, we got one study-period (study-period = do-whatever-we-want-period).

You absoloutely should check out the blog of my close friend Parham, there are awesome articles on there ;): http://www.sciencecrazy1.blogspot.com/

Huh, that's a lot of text. I think that's about it really haha. I gotta get to bed soon I'd say. So I'll see...
ah wait, actually I have to tell you something. There is no 'bewegende foto' - feature in waarbenjij.nu, I was just having a bit of fun. So to everyone who tried and failed: "Hahahahahaha....I'm sorry but hahahaha." ;D you know me, guys!

Either way, See ya soon!

Yours from New Zealand,

Timon.


Edit:

After I wrote my blog today I was lying around in my bed doing nothing - well, not nothing, I talked to a few friends on facebook/by text - and I was thinking about the fact that actually more than half my time in New Zealand is over already. Since I knew time would fly I tried to make the best of it and I think I did well. Got a lot of good experiences and moments and happiness. I'm still astonished thugh how fast half of the time was over. What really worries me though is that this is the case with everything - our childhood, school time, student time, adult time...our life, every nice moment, every holiday and some people might not do what they want with their time. I urge you to make the most of every moment so you won't regret that you didn't use your time in the end. Don't bother with unnecessary stuff...or as I said when I went to a meeting for my last performance when I had to deal with some staff member sitting behind a desk and filling out papers:
"I can't be bothered talking to anyone else than the manager right now, my time is valuable!" ;D

  • 02 Februari 2011 - 08:32

    Timon:

    Photos will be on soo, by the way!

    Oh and I know the date I'll be coming back to Netherlands/Germany buuuut I might make it a surprise :D.

    Either way, more than half of my time here is over.

    See ya soon!

    Timon.

  • 08 Februari 2011 - 17:22

    Mama:

    Niet ingetrapt, ken je al te lang en je bent Papas zoon!
    Argentinie heeft 5 rijlessen nodig. Ben dus blij, dat Rotary "no driving"voorschrijft.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

Actief sinds 20 Juli 2010
Verslag gelezen: 383
Totaal aantal bezoekers 77652

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Juli 2014 - 26 Augustus 2014

Return to the land of the long white cloud

13 Juli 2013 - 12 Augustus 2013

Interrail Tour 2013

21 Juli 2010 - 21 Juli 2011

Exchange Year in New Zealand

Landen bezocht: