Travelling with Dad & Packing - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu Travelling with Dad & Packing - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu

Travelling with Dad & Packing

Door: timonkrause

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

19 Juli 2011 | Nieuw Zeeland, Hamilton

Hey there,

how are you? I hope you're well.

The weather here in NZ is bloody cold :D I'm sitting in the only heated room of the house, everywhere else I'd freeze to ice.

What have I been up to the last few weeks? Well, as you know my Dad arrived Monday two weeks ago. It was great to see him again, after a year! On the first two days we stayed in Hamilton and caught up. Then, Wednesday, we went to Rotorua. Rotorua is always awesome. We went to see the geysers. At first the biggest geyser (Te Puia) didn't seem so impressive, but then it exploded and it was pretty cool :D you might recall that I went to Rotorua almost a year ago with Geoff & Raewynn.
We had afternoon tea at the 'Fat Dog Cafe' in Rotorua, that was pretty cool.

On Thursday we went to Hobbiton wich was awesome! Normally, the hobbit-holes are only covered in white board. But as they're about to start filming again all the hobbit holes are readily painted and the gardens completely done. Unfortunately, we are not allowed to put up pictures of the set ;D it was pretty good though.

Friday morning my host-father and I took Dad to the weekly Rotary meeting so all the Rotarians could meet him.
Afterwards we went to the Waitomo Caves south of Hamilton where we visited two caves (Waitomo Glowworm and Ruakuri) to see the glowworms first hand. In the evening Dad and I went to the movies to see "Hangover 2". It was good!

On Saturday I was invited to join a meeting of the New Zealand/Australia Exchange Students. They were all about 15, it was pretty cool though. In the evening I performed some stuff for them and I made a lot of new contacts, in Australia, too. I spent the night there and Dad picked me up the next morning.

On Sunday we went up to Auckland to look around and spent the night there.
We visited the Skytower fromwhere we had a spectacular view over Auckland and its surroundings. Monday afternoon we met Richard Webster and I gave him a copy of my book as a thanks for helping me. It was great to catch up wit him again and good that Dad could finally meet him! Afterwards we went to some underwater arctic sea center which was pretty cool. We saw stingrays, sharks and penguins :)

Tuesday we went out of Auckland and made our way up to Cape Reinga. We stoppe by at the Waitangy Treaty Grounds and then arrived in Kaitaia in the evening. We booked a tour to Cape Reinga for Wednesday. As last time, the tour was awesome. We went to Cape Reinga and saw the 90 Mile Beach and the Kauri Kingdom. At Cape Reinga I of course visited the tree that we planted on the North Island tour ;D
Dad had Chinese for dinner (in NZ they called it Tea) and I had Pizza (:

On Thursday we went back down to Auckland, stopping by at the Kauri Museum and the biggest Kauri tree: Tane Mahuta ("Lord of the Forest"). We also saw the 'Four Sisters' Kauris. We stopped in Dargaville for lunch and then arrived in Auckland in the evening. We booked at the Kiwi International Hotel, the same hotel we booked in before. Dad and I went to the cinema to see the last part of Harry Potter in 3D on its first night and it worked out :) that was a great finish to my year :D !

Friday we went back to Hamilton. Before we went back though we went to the Auckland Museum to see the "Aqua" exhibiton. It was very nicely done and was, obviously, about water and how to save it. We then went back to Hamilton where we had dinner with my host families (Bryce & Maria couldn't come).

On Saturday I met up with Parham, Rory, Rajah, Brahm & Summer (his girlfriend), Bahram, Agustin and Alex. We wanted to hang out one last time before I left. Rory had to leave soon, so I said goodbye to him. Next, Brahm and Summer left. The rest of us went to see "Kung Fu Panda 2" in the cinema. Rajah and I filmed our *mean as handshake* on the men's toilet and in the gaming area of the cinema. Then I said goodbye to the rest of them.

Bill Dekel - another mentalist - and I also brought out a new ebook called "AirWriter" which is selling well.

Sunday morning I went to Southcity church and said goodbye, Sunday evening I said goodbye to the people of Ham South Baptist Church, although nearly no-one was there. Afterwards I went to the magic circle. The theme was 'vanishing' (as I was about to "vanish") and 'comedy'. I then said goodbye to all of them, too.

On Monday morning Dad and I went into town to do some stuff, then Dad dropped me at Alex's place. He had to go to the Airport as he left NZ yesterday. He couldn't get on the same plane as I. I will be staying for a little longer. So, after Dad left I hung out with Alex and Nathaniel. I then went home for dinner. Heather and I went to the MMA center so I could say goodbye to some of the people there, but it turned out they were training in town. So we went to town. I only could find Aiden, so I couldn't say goodbye to Steve anymore unfortunately. I already said goodbye to Brahm, and caught Carlo at the MMA Center before.

Yes it was a lot of goodbyes but I guess it's not about saying goodbye but about the good times we had anyways :)

Heather and I then went to the dance center where I said goodbye to Carl.

Today I'll only be packing my stuff as I'm leavin NZ fairly soon. Gotta get ready. One of my friends from Germany apparently is in hospital, I hope she'll get better soon!

So, I guess the next time you hear from me I might be at home already. I learned a lot on my year and it's invaluable to me. I made so many friends, thanks to all of them for making my time here great! NZ is definately different to Germany. I'll need to get used to not just walking up to people and talking to them 'just because'. I'll need to get used to talking and performing in German again. But that's all good.

I learned how valuable time is and to make the most of every moment :)

Thanks to my parents for allowing me to go on this trip, without them I couldn't have gone here obviously.

Thanks to Rotary for sponsoring me and hosting me, it was great :)

Thanks again to my friends, they really made my year! I'll miss you guys.

Thanks to all the people I met!

To be honest, I'm a little nervous about going home. I felt the same when I came here.

I'll add photos of our tour on here once I'm home.

Phew. One year of writing my blog. Not sure if I'll keep writing it when I'm back in Germany or not...probably not. I got so many plans already! Just staying in one place is boring, so I'll keep travelling a little bit, I hope. I also hope that I won't drop back into some old routine, in fact, that I won't drop into any real routine, just like here. Every day can be exciting and different and should be lived to the max :).

Well, I guess I gotta finish this here. Got a lot to do today. So, Ladies and Gentlemen. I hope you enjoyed reading my blog. It'd be great if you could just leave a comment and say goodbye :) although - it's not about saying goodbye but about the good times we had ;)

Thanks for reading, I'll see you soon.

All the best,

catch ya later,

Timon.

  • 19 Juli 2011 - 11:07

    Thomas:

    About damn time you get your ass back here :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

Actief sinds 20 Juli 2010
Verslag gelezen: 483
Totaal aantal bezoekers 77645

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Juli 2014 - 26 Augustus 2014

Return to the land of the long white cloud

13 Juli 2013 - 12 Augustus 2013

Interrail Tour 2013

21 Juli 2010 - 21 Juli 2011

Exchange Year in New Zealand

Landen bezocht: