Another chapter nearly finished - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu Another chapter nearly finished - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu

Another chapter nearly finished

Door: timonkrause

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

02 Juli 2011 | Nieuw Zeeland, Hamilton

Hey there,

how are you doing?

The past week was awesome, I went to dancing on Monday. It was meant to be the last time I'd be at dancing but I think I'll go at least once more - it's so hard to just turn around and say goodbye!

Over the weekend Lee and Bob and I went up to Napier, Lee and Bob had to attend some Agriculture Award Givings. Bia, the girl from Brasil, organized for me to stay with her previous host family. They are really nice! The father is called John and the mother is Ruth. They also had their two sons at home, Scott and Calin (I'm not sure about the spelling of the name of the second one ;D ).
So I stayed the night on their farm. This was another one of those things you do as an exchange - go to a foreign town and stay with people you never actually talked to. It was good though.
In the morning I quickly caught up with Bia (I nearly missed her as she stayed the night elsewhere and we left early) and Lee had some problems finding me at Bia's place so she first had to call someone else :D.

I didn't got to MMA on Tuesday as Lee and Bob were busy. On Wednesday I went to the president changeover of Hamilton East Club, a Dutch lady - Greet - is now president. I performed there, Danae sang a few songs (really good !) and I also caught up with Agustin. All in all, it was a very enjoyable evening :) I got some book vouchers as a thanks for performing.

On Thursday was my last drama class, that actually was really sad :S. However, Miss Cash and all the people from my class gave me a massive goodbye party :D It was awesome! I'll try and get a video up here somehow. Basically it consisted of replacing phrases of songs with my name (Quoting Miss Cash as she re-wrote 'Friday' - 'Its Timon, Timon, gotta get down on...oh..hahaha' :P ) and dancing all around me while I wasn't allowed to get up out of my chair. They also wrote me a goodbye card, so did my form class :)
On Thursday evening I was invited for dinner at Anouk's place. Anouk is from the french speaking part of Canada, at the moment she's living with Maddy - I spent Christmas at their place, she is Alex's ex girlfriend. Her mum Joly made us some great dinner and we watched TV for a while and talked - finally I had to say goodbye and good luck to all of them. It was a nice evening!

Friday was my last day at school...it was quite sad as I had to say goodbye to everyone and a lot of them didn't even know that I'm leaving. I left the Math's Class with a *Bang* - magic - and did some last performances around school. Of course I said farewell to all my teachers, too. When I left school finally I was quite sad, but I'm sure it's not a goodbye forever.

Hillcrest High School has definetely given me a lot and I hope I gave some of it back to them. Mr. Achary, my maths teacher, for example taught me how important it is to balance work and fun - but, nevertheless, keep working now so I don't regret it some time later.
Miss Cash, my drama teacher, taught us how to...well, just party :D Miss Spittle (Photography) knows how to set priorities, Mister Cook (Music-Technology) shares my opinion that we need to keep changing and Mr Johanson (APE) knows how to follow one's goal. And what my friends taught me...uh, that'd take way too long ;).

When I left HHS I also started thinking about how it'll be when I come home. Personally, I think the weird feeling I have is not so much that I don't want to leave NZ. I don't regret that I have to leave as I achieved about everything I aimed for. I think it's more that I don't want to drop back into the old every day life. Now, if I hadn't gone onto this exchange year I probably would still be doing what I've done a year ago and nothing would've changed. But as I went here I realised that it's important to me to grow and keep it exciting, it's important not to drop into routine but make the most of the time you have. As Bryce, my second hostdad, said: "Life's too short to do something you don't want to do."
So, I don't expect that everything at home will have changed, I also don't expect the people to have changed. Maybe they have. But if they haven't that's alright with me, just to me it is important to grow and keep experiencing new stuff. I'll do my best to not drop into the old routine, or in fact any routine.

Anyways, yesterday evening I also went to the Rotary President Changeover of our very own club. Carmen and I performed a Rock'N'Roll dance to "Greased Lightning" from "Grease" and we had a great time. Joe Doherty now is president of Waikato Sunrise and Libby can relax - well done Libby, congratulations Joe!

Geoff Tizard and Margaret Jenkins got a Paul Harris Fellow Award and were both moved, a PHFA is a great honour. They both deserve it!

Today I spent most of my day packing up so I can move to Jim & Heather's place tomorrow. On Monday Dad will arrive here, I'm looking forward to that. Before I leave NZ I will have to say goodbye to Parham, Rajah, Alex, my hostfamilies and the rest of my friends that I haven't said goodbye to yet.

The Chapter 'New Zealand Exchange' is nearly finished with this, I enjoyed every second so far and I will make the most out of the rest of my time here.

I'll catch you next time!

All the best,

Timon.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

Actief sinds 20 Juli 2010
Verslag gelezen: 460
Totaal aantal bezoekers 77647

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Juli 2014 - 26 Augustus 2014

Return to the land of the long white cloud

13 Juli 2013 - 12 Augustus 2013

Interrail Tour 2013

21 Juli 2010 - 21 Juli 2011

Exchange Year in New Zealand

Landen bezocht: