Rainy days and jamming around on the Sax - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu Rainy days and jamming around on the Sax - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu

Rainy days and jamming around on the Sax

Door: timonkrause

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

06 April 2011 | Nieuw Zeeland, Hamilton

Hey there, hey there! Ladies and Gentlemen, it's time to write my next blog (:

How are you? I hope you are well, whoever 'you' are!

The days over here are getting shorter again, last weekend was the end of daylight savings. Therefore the time-difference to the Netherlands & Germany is only 10 hours now.
It's raining a lot now and it's getting cold, like seriously cold. In the mornings I'm wearing gloves (damn, I lost my gloves this morning while biking to school :S ) and a hat in the morning. But as you'll know by now I can't stand heat anyways, so it's all good.

Since winter's coming I bought some new clothes a week or so ago. I bought a black jacket, black shoes and some socks. Originally it was supposed to cost 145$ , but the shop had some 'buy 3 men's items and get 30% off!' so the salesman sold me two sets of handkerchiefs which first added some money to the price and then reduced it by 20$ :D. Now, for the maths-guys out there: How much were the hankeys :P?

Remember the maths test from two weeks ago? Yeah, half the class wasn't good enough (only excellence is good enough ;D ) so we had to resit it. We did the resit on Monday, I guess it was alright.
The Drama test was really cool, we did a practice filming of it. Halfway through my monologue I forgot a piece of the text so I had to improvise a little bit but since it was in German no one really noticed :P.
I also finished my Tennis-Assignment, we had to analyse our tennis-forehand for APE. Right now we are training tennis to get better at it. Next term we'll put up a personal training plan.

The weekend before last weekend I finally finished writing my mentalism book, 230 pages normal book size :) I hopefully will be able to meet Richard Webster again soon, he offered to help me with getting the book ready for publication. Then in May or June it hopefully will come out :). I wouldn't have time to publish it when I'm back home, therefore I want to publish the book while I'm here. Richard is overseas at the moment, travel safe Richard!

My saxophone teacher (a different one from last year. This year I have Mr Cullen, he's our Jazzband leader, too) finally taught me how to improvise on the Saxophone. Resulting from that Parham and Rajah (both on the piano) and I had a few sessions in the music room, just jamming around. One time Antony (a friend from drama) sang Maroon 5's 'This love' and played piano to it and I played along with my saxophone, it's pretty mean.

At school there was a musical-production on, it was called 'Godspell'. I unfortunately couldn't go, I planned to go on Friday but then Lyn (from Rotary) and Ross (her husband) took me out sailing up near Auckland for the weekend. It was really good, I loved it! On Friday evening I went to a marina-pub (for all the rotary people crying out now: No, I didn't stay out too late, no I didn't drink. You know I don't drink. No drugs and no dating either, don't worry, Rotary) and listened to a dude playing guitar and singing, his name is Chris. It was really good.

Saturday we went out sailing (we spent the nights on the boat) and did some fishing - I caught some good snapper. Ross and I also had some interesting discussions about economy, Christianity and a lot of other stuff.

Saturday afternoon we stopped at Waiheke island and had a look at the town. In town I found an interesting book on the neuroscience behind magic. Didn't expect to find something like that in a town smaller than my hometown Anholt :D.

Saturday evening we had a nice Indian meal with fish.

The highlight of the sailing trip, by the way, were Lyn's dogs :D. She has two pugs, a black one called Chester (4 years old) and a brownish one called Boston (7 years old). Pugs are one of my favorite dog breeds and these two are really cool. Chester kept on trying to lick the salt out of my armpit, resulting in him freaking out and getting told off by Ross :D.

Sunday we went back home, I washed Chester and Boston and Lyn dropped me home. I picked up a pendant my friend Alex (magician) had made for me and I popped along at Maria's place (my third hostmum) to congratulate Alex (the other Alex, my ex-hostbrother ;) ) for his 13th birthday. He looks very mature and doesn't behave like a 13 year old at all :D.

In Drama we are currently doing some work on creating own drama pieces, that'll be our next assessment. Yesterday we had to partner up and close our eyes and then try to find each other just by touching hands. I partnered up with India and we were the lost ones to find back to each other :D .
Afterwards we had to partner up with new partners (I got Hannah) and we had to act like we had a crush on each other but were a bit embarrassed - it was a bit awkward for all the couples :D.

We also had to invent own scenes. One scene I made up with Amy was about some scientist. Here the dialogue in short:
- "We discovered new Genes."
- "But I've been wearing Jeans all my life!"
- "I'm not talking about Jeans. I'm talking about Genes. G-E-N-E-S."

Yeah, it was kinda not funny :D. You know my humor. Today Robin, Antony and I performed a scene about a dude who wakes up in the same dream again and again. It was quite cool.

Does anyone here remember how I first got to New Zealand and Justin Vodane (my counsellor) gave me some Marmite or Vegemite for breakfast? I put heaps of it on my toast and thought it was disgusting. Well, a few weeks ago I tried toast with Marmite again and I quite liked it, so now I have it quite a lot :D. Libby also showed me a fruit called Nashi, it's a mix of apple and pear. It's really yummy!

In the Rotary club we got some new members and Charles (he sang with Danae at the Paul Harris Award thing) went overseas to the UK, he'll live there. All the best and travel safe, Charles!

Maria will go off to overseas on Thursday. She'll be going to the Netherlands and she'll be quite close to home. Therefore my parents and Maria will meet up, I guess that'd be exciting :). Then they can exchange all the stories about me and see if being my parent and being my host parent is similar :D.

Last Wednesday Danae took me to Pantry (church youth group) again, it was quite good. We also had some girl from the USA coming, she's sponsored for a Rotary year with some other program, too.

Talking about Rotary again, my next host family will most likely be Lee Furness. She's really cool :).

Yeaah...at the moment I don't have all the photos I'd like to show to you handy but a few of them I got, so I'll upload those if it works. If not I'll make another big photo blog -entry soon.

I guess that's it for now. Next blog entry might be Monday in one week since next week we are going on the North Island tour with the exchangees :) sounds good? Sounds good 8-).

So, I'd say...see ya later alligator! In a while, crocodile! Not too soon, baboon! If you wish, jellyfish! You're funkey, monkey. Go for a walk, dog. Don't get fat, cat. Good luck, pug.

Anyways...see ya later :D!

All the best,

from New Zealand,

Timon.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

Actief sinds 20 Juli 2010
Verslag gelezen: 509
Totaal aantal bezoekers 77654

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Juli 2014 - 26 Augustus 2014

Return to the land of the long white cloud

13 Juli 2013 - 12 Augustus 2013

Interrail Tour 2013

21 Juli 2010 - 21 Juli 2011

Exchange Year in New Zealand

Landen bezocht: