Goodbyes, MMA and a confirmation - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu Goodbyes, MMA and a confirmation - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Nieuw Zeeland van Timon Krause - WaarBenJij.nu

Goodbyes, MMA and a confirmation

Door: timonkrause

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

17 Mei 2011 | Nieuw Zeeland, Hamilton

Welcome back, Ladies and Gentlemen!

I hope you are well. I am well, ahm, apart from that I just got smacked in the belly a few times, had someone put their knee onto my belly and put their weight into it and so on. No, I didn't get into a street fight. I just returned from MMA, which stands for Mixed Martial Arts. My friend Brahm invited me to join and I've been going there for some 4 weeks now and I'm really enjoying it :D !

Anyways. The weather here is getting worse and worse, winter's clearly there. This morning it was raining when I biked from here to school. Oh, did you know that 'here' is not Libby's place anymore? I moved three weeks ago, no I'm living with Lee Furness and Bob Laing. They're a lovely couple from my rotary club. Bob is just as sarcastic as I am.
Lee and Bob already taught me how to play backgammon and crib, both games are a lot of fun and we play often (:

The day before yesterday - Sunday, 15th of May - I missed out on my brother's confirmation to church, sadly. Anyways, congratulations Jasper! I'm proud of you!

School's started again - same old rythm, same great friends, same fun subjects. This Friday the international concert is on and I was going to perform since my first day at school, so finally it's on. Looking forward to that, I'll also be doing the sound system job there.

My book is in print now, the proof copy will either arrive Thursday or Friday. That'll be great (: I also found a shop in the USA (H&R magic books) and a shop in Germany (stemaro) who want to sell my book.

A couple of weeks ago the Rotary District Conference was on. It was really good, we met up with all exchangees again and performed there. We walked into the room singing 'Hakuna Matata' , then explained why we chose the song. I then did a 5 minute magic act, followed by a speech from everyone about what's different between NZ and their country (the way how kiwis wash their dishes, the salespeople...). Saturday afternoon we left the conference and went go-carting at Daytona. That was really cool. I formed a team with Trine from Denmark, we were fifth or so :D

Saturday night (still on the conference 2 weeks ago) there was a fundraiser where they sold stuff (comics, exchangestudents... ) and afterwards an Austin Powers impersonation entertained us ('What do you mean, your name is Jane? Yesterday night your name was Mia, wasn't it?'), followed by 'Elvis'. Elvis got Franzi, Trini, Jonathan (a Rotary interact president, 15 years old from Hamilton) and me up on stage and we had to present our best Elvis moves. Uh yeah. We all won a scratch ticket ('the chance to win 500$' ... yeah.). Afterwars some Lady sung some songs and a Joe Cocker impersonation came up. Of course Franzi and I rocked the dancefloor with Jive, Rumba, Chacha and everything else. I also danced a short waltz with Danae, but not on the dance floor.

Sunday we had to say goodbye and it was probably the first time I "cried" since I've arrived in New Zealand. It was the last time that our exchangee group would meet complete, although right now there are already plans being made for visiting the white Island together.

This Friday Lee and Bob and I went to see 'Death of a Salesman' (theatre) in town, it was kinda bad though (the main character mumbled) so we left halfway through the piece and had hot chocolate in a cafe (better).

Saturday morning we went to 'The Base', a giant shopping center. First time that I've been to the actual shopping part of the base. We met some of Bob and Lee's friends.

I also got a present for my friend Kimberley from dancing, she'll turn 21 next weekend but we already celebrated last saturday because she won't have the time next weekend. So Saturday evening I went to her party (her present was a little book with wise sayings) and talked to some of her friends about god and the devil, what's after life, psychology and the answer to everything (which, still, is 42 :D !). I also found out that Kim went to Nigeria (or so, some deserty country) for 3 years on a missionary thing with her family from when she was 15 until she was 18. Apparently they came back and didn't know about flatscreen TVs yet which lead to some confusion in the electronics shop.

Sunday morning I biked to church and met Neil (from dancing) and Danae there. Sunday evening we had magic circle at Theo de Leeuws place and we decided that the theme for the next circle would be birthday magic as it is one day before my birthday, and the theme for the circle in July will be vanishing effects as it's just before I leave.
Sunday afternoon Bob and I went to see the Bridal Veil Falls but I didn't get a good picture as my first camera broke on the north island tour (although I'm sure I'm just too stupid to repair it) and the other camera I got sent from home couldn't handle the lighting or so, so the photos aren't too good unfortunately.

Yesterday, Monday, I went to dancing and today I only had school and martial arts on.

What else apart from that? In APE we are doing a personal exercise programme now. Yeah, I think that's about it.

I'd say I'll catch ya later and see you soon, have a good time!

Yours,

Timon.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

Actief sinds 20 Juli 2010
Verslag gelezen: 329
Totaal aantal bezoekers 77648

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Juli 2014 - 26 Augustus 2014

Return to the land of the long white cloud

13 Juli 2013 - 12 Augustus 2013

Interrail Tour 2013

21 Juli 2010 - 21 Juli 2011

Exchange Year in New Zealand

Landen bezocht: